Friday, June 18, 2010

Ram Vilas Paswan, Rajiv Pratap Rudy win Rajya Sabha seats from Bihar

Lok Janshakti Party chief Ram Vilas Paswan, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) spokesman Rajiv Pratap Rudy and RJD’s Ram Kripal Yadav have won Rajya Sabha seats from Bihar today.

Earlier on Thursday, polling began to elect five Rajya Sabha members from the state amid fear of cross-voting because of the presence of an independent candidate.

Both the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the opposition led by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) are hopeful of winning three and two seats respectively.

More than two dozen legislators voted in the first hour of polling that began at 9 am. The Bihar Assembly has 243 legislators.


Post a Comment